Over-staying Your Visa in Brazil

So, you’ve not got your act together and moved on to an alternative visa! No Problem! When i applied for my visa the police federal basically advertised for me to stay in the country Illegally. These are the implications –

  • R$8 per day
  • Capped at 100 days (R$800)
  • Paid on RETURN to Brazil
  • No other implications i have heard about

I didn’t do this as i have a visa for the USA and didn’t want to risk loosing it, but everything I’ve read suggests there is no problem doing this (like i said even the federal told me about it)

I have also read many  people applying for their visa while illegal (some for up to 2 years illegal!)

Soon i will post some information about working in Brazil so keep posted!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Doug
    May 02, 2011 @ 19:22:30

    Hey, saw this post and got very encouraged. I am an American, and just went to apply for my perm visa today, based on Stable Union, but the PF in Campinas told me I was illegal.(I thought it was 180 days each CALENDAR year as opposed to any 365 day period)
    They told me I needed to buy a ticket to leave Brasil and come back to PF and pay the fine!? They also couldnt tell me how long I needed to leave Brasil before returning. I have read about others who only paid upon their return. Regardless of that, the thing that piqued my interest was the fact you mentioned it is possible to apply for a visa while illegal. Do you have any more information on this? Thanks…

    Reply

    • christavo
      May 02, 2011 @ 22:34:23

      Hey Doug,

      Well all i know about this is that while i was applying for my Visa – And i mean that i hadn’t given any documents in to the federal at this point – was that they told me there was no problem for me to stay illegal. Once again the important point to all this is that everyone has a different story…there’s no consistency, like anything in Brazil!

      I previously read about someone who had been in the country illegal for many years and still applied for this type of Visa. Where i read this, and where i reccommend posting your question for 1000’s to read is on http://www.gringoes.com

      Hope this helps!

      Chris

      Reply

  2. Doug
    May 02, 2011 @ 23:23:37

    Hey man….thanks for the quick reply. Yeah, been fishing around at gringoes and made a post there. I think I saw the thread you are referring to.

    Lets see where this goes…was thinking maybe to go to a PF in a different city…like u said, no consistency, maybe it can work for me in this case!!

    Thanks again!

    Reply

  3. countryless
    Dec 09, 2012 @ 21:16:06

    ops.. been here 2 years and over.. illegal.. ) .. guess have to pay the fine.. when i leave.. next december

    Reply

  4. Try this site
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 05:33:50

    Thank you, I’ve just been looking for info approximately this topic for a while and yours is the greatest I have came upon till now. But, what concerning the bottom line? Are you certain in regards to the supply?

    Reply

  5. trading in options
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 03:06:44

    hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve definitely picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this website, as I experienced to reload the web site lots of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and can damage your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my email and could look out for much more of your respective exciting content.
    Ensure that you update this again soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

