Feliz Natal! Christmas In Brasil

Well. I have to admit, it just DOESN’T feel like Christmas!

After commenting about this yesterday the response I got from my friend was ‘Even for us Brazilians, its a kind of weird experience, because everywhere you look Santa is in a big thick coat, or its decorated with panda bears and snow…’ And of course, realistically, here I am averaging at 30 oC everyday!

Christmas however, DOES seem to be as big as

it is in the UK. Shop’s are open later, the police presence gets larger, the streets get busier, the decorations go up everywhere, and they even have our version of ‘Secret Santa’ – ‘Amigo Secreto’.

The traditional drink at Christmas is either Champagne or Cider – However Cider in Brazil tastes much like Champagne, and nothing like our English cider (which I have to admit I miss…Alot!)

Many families also enjoy Turkey at Christmas, and of cause like I imagine it is in most countries, Christmas is a time for families.

For me? We decorated the house in the middle of November which I’m told is quite normal here – my mother was shocked. We have a work party to go to tonight. I took part in ‘Amigo Secreto,’ and on Christmas day it looks like we will be spending it with Friends.

Enjoy some of the decorations below! Merry Christmas Everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

